PaJeS  together with the Jewish News are delighted to announce the launch of the The Jewish Schools Awards 2017. 

Taking place in February 2017, we once again celebrate the inspirational teaching in Jewish Schools. 
Nominations have now closed and will be listed here very soon.

Last year’s inaugural event saw teachers recognised in four categories. The 2017 awards will feature four new categories, covering both primary and secondary education.

“The new categories of awards will let us recognise as much good practice in our schools as possible,” said PaJeS executive director Rabbi David Meyer. “We look forward once again to highlighting the successes and achievements of our community’s schools.”

Rabbi Meyer said the awards were “an opportunity to recognise the exceptional efforts of the teachers and staff in our schools because it is thanks to their dedication that our schools are effectively educating the next generation of our community”.

Last year’s event, sponsored by the Emmes Foundation, showcased the top talent from 120 Jewish schools, with awards for innovation in secular and Jewish studies, use of information and communications technology, and inspirational leadership.

This year’s finalists are:

Award for Assistant/Deputy Headteacher – Primary School
Miss Liza Feiner, Etz Chaim Jewish Primary School
Mr Justin Kett, Sacks Morasha Jewish Primary School
Miss Alex Kingston, Wolfson Hillel Primary School

Award for Assistant/Deputy Headteacher – Secondary School
Ms Elaine Robinson, JCoSS
Miss Talia Thoret, JFS
Miss Emma Murphy, Kantor King Solomon High School

Award for Emerging Teacher – Primary School
Mrs Charlotte Golembo, Wolfson Hillel Primary School
Miss Miriam Saffer, Independent Jewish Day School
Mrs Donna Lewis, Rosh Pinah Primary School

Award for Emerging Teacher – Secondary School
Miss Joanna Moses, JCoSS
Mr Dan Artman, Hasmonean High School for Boys
Ms Isla Thomson, Yavneh College

Award for Modern Hebrew Teacher - Primary School
Mrs Keren Greene, Etz Chaim Jewish Primary School
Mrs Pnina Ravid, Akiva School
Ms Yifat Johnson, Eden Primary

Award for Modern Hebrew Teacher - Secondary School
Mrs Sivan Simons, JFS
Miss Judy Hopstein, Lubavitch Senior Girls’ School
Mrs Merav Isaacson, King David High School, Manchester

Award for SENCo - Primary School
Mrs Miriam Kaye, Sacks Morasha Jewish Primary School
Mrs Madeleine Bendell, North West London Jewish Day School
Mrs Debbie Weissbraun, Mathilda Marks-Kennedy School

Award for SENCo - Secondary School
Mrs Hannah Lethbridge, JCoSS
Ms Claudia Giarrusso, Kantor King Solomon High School
Mr Simon Bull, Hasmonean High School for Boys

Judges include Rabbi Meyer; Alastair Falk, Birmingham Education Partnership; scientist Lord Winston; Sue Williamson, chief executive of the Schools, Students and Teachers Network; Karen Harris, managing director of and Jewish News editor Richard Ferrer.

Launching the second awards, Ferrer said: “Behind every good student is a good teacher, someone dedicated to educating and inspiring the next generation. Our community celebrates its outstanding students every year through consistently-impressive exam results. We’re thrilled to be working with Partnerships for Jewish Schools again, to pay tribute to talented educators across the country.”

The Emmes Foundation said: “We are delighted to be sponsoring this exciting initiative for Jewish schools, which recognises the hard work and sacrifice of our teachers."



Copyright © 2014 the Jewish Leadership Council
The Jewish Leadership Council is a registered Charity in England and Wales number 1115343